Sign in to my resources Register

Sign in to my resources


KZNKwaZulu-Natal has 47 District Teacher Development Centres (DTDCs) 14 of which are supported by Vodacom. On this page you'll find an overview of these centres as well as news and resources posted by the centres. 


Teacher Centres

  Centre News


Below please find the list of the teacher centres in KwaZulu-Natal. The centres supported by Vodacom are listed in red.

  1. Abaqulusi EC
  2. Altona EDSC
  3. Amajuba Teacher Development Centre
  4. Bangizwe EDSC
  5. Chatsworth EDSC
  6. Durban Education Centre
  7. Emahusheni
  8. Embizweni Education Centre/Emmaus EC
  9. Enqoleni EDRC, Uthungulu
  10. Eshowe Enviromental Education Centre
  11. Esibonokuhle EDC Mooi River
  12. Hammarsdale EDSC, Pinetown
  13. Harding
  14. Indlangamandla EC
  15. Izingolweni
  16. Jolivet EDSC
  17. Jozini EDSC
  18. Khanyanjalo EDSC
  19. Khululekani EC
  20. Kwa Mashu ERC
  21. Kwandengezi Education Centre
  22. Lamontville EDSC, Umlazi
  23. Lugobe EC
  24. Manguzi EDSC
  25. Maphumulo Education Centre
  26. Masakhuxolo EDSC
  27. Masehambisane EC, Amajuba
  28. Mbazwana EDSC
  29. Mimosadale Education Centre
  30. Ndwedwe education centre
  31. Nhlazadolo EC
  32. Nongoma EDSC - Madlenzulu
  33. Phoenix EDC
  34. Pholela EC
  35. Phongola EDSC, Zululand
  36. Phungashe EDSC
  37. Phunguphungu
  38. Prince Alfred EC, Umgungundlovu (closed)
  39. Tongaat Education Centre
  40. Tugela Ferry EC
  41. Turton
  42. Ukhahlamba Education Centre
  43. Ulundi
  44. Umbilo Dokkies, Pinetown
  45. Umgungundlovu EC
  46. Umzinyathi Education Centre
  47. Utrecht / Bergsig Education Centre
  48. Vulindlela EC

Please click on the teacher centre for more information about training programmes and contact details..


National Core ICT Training Team (NCTT)

The province has a standing IT Steering Committee that sits every month chaired by a General Manager. This Committee comprises the IT, MST&ICT,ELITS, EMIS and asset management directorates. SITA is a member as a service provider and state entity looking after IT tools.

The ICT training in the province rests on two directorates: MST & ICT & ELITS -ICT component focusing on school libraries. The ITs are also part of the delivery of ICT training because they are based in Education Resource Centres. The managers of Education Resource Centres (ERC) or ECs fall under the School Library Directorate (ELITS - Education Library
Information and Technology Services).

This directorate drives the integration and effective utilisation of ICTs through school libraries to support the curriculum. This makes it possible for both teachers and learners to have access to a wide range of information resources stored in these digital devices. It also makes the school libraries very rich with content and information sharing through Internet and offline access.

There are 45 ECs in the province. These accommodate the entire school community