Sign in to my resources Register

Sign in to my resources


second national teaching awards3 March 2014 – In a special ceremony in Johannesburg on Thursday 6 March the Department of Education will honour dedicated and caring teachers who have been nominated by their schools and colleagues to receive one of the National Teaching Awards.

The National Teaching Awards are organised by the Department of Basic Education since 2000. The Department acknowledges the extraordinary efforts of schools and teachers, which have been achieved often under very difficult conditions and in service to our children, many of whom come from poor communities.

With the National Teaching Awards the Department acknowledges and encourages dedicated and caring teachers in their efforts to develop each learner as a citizen of a democratic, non-racial and non-sexist South Africa.



The objectives of the National Teaching Awards are to:

  • Focus public attention on the positive aspects of Education, thereby raising the public image of the teaching profession.
  • Recognise and promote excellence in teaching performance.
  • Honour dedicated, creative and effective teachers and schools.
  • Encourage best practice in schools.
  • Afford South Africans the opportunity to publicly say thank you to outstanding teams or individual teachers in schools.


Categories and Awards

The categories are:

  • Excellence in Primary School Teaching
  • Excellence in Secondary School Teaching
  • Excellence in Primary School Leadership
  • Excellence in Secondary School Leadership
  • Excellence in Grade R Teaching
  • Excellence in Special Needs Teaching
  • Excellence in ICT - Enhanced Teaching
  • Lifetime Achievement Award

The awards are:

  • District finalists: Certificates of Excellence
  • Regional/Cluster finalists: Certificates of Excellence
  • Provincial finalists: Certificates of Excellence
  • National finalists: Certificates of Excellence

The Digital Classroom will be present at Thursday's ceremony and will provide a full report on the proceedings and winners. Please also follow our updates on Facebook and Twitter.


Related articles